Realestate News

GITAM to confer doctorates on Ilaiyaraaja, Madhavan Nair

Doctorates to be given to Ilaiyaraaja and Madhavan Nair by GITAM University in Vizag news image

Secretary of Earth Sciences Madhavan Nair Rajeevan will be conferred Honorary Doctor of Science degree at the 7th convocation of GITAM University on Saturday. He will also deliver the convocation address.

Along with him, former Chief Justice of Supreme Court S. Rajendra Babu, former director-general of Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR) Nirmal Kumar Ganguly and music maestro I. Ilaiyaraaja will be conferred Honorary Doctorates.

University Vice-Chancellor M.S. Prasada Rao said that 2,625 degrees would be awarded on that day. Of the total, 1,147 would receive them in person and the rest in absentia.

Some 35 research scholars would be awarded their Ph.Ds from different streams such as engineering, science, management, pharmacy and architecture.

While 13 students would be awarded the gold medal, 50 first rankers from various disciplines and streams would receive the merit certificates.

University Registrar M. Potharaju and Pro-Vice-Chancellor K. Sivarama Krishna were present at the press briefing here on Thursday.