Eight plays will be staged over four days starting Sunday (April 10) at Kalabharati Auditorium as part of the invitation national drama festival.

The XI edition of the annual Kalabharati-AS Raja Memorial Drama Festival would feature select plays from across the Telugu-speaking states, Kalabharati founder president C.S.N. Raju told the media here on Tuesday. The eight plays have been chosen from among 32 plays received from across the two states.

The winning drama troupe would get Rs. 15,000, second best Rs. 12,000 and the third best Rs. 10, 000. The prizes were sponsored by Chairman of CMR Group Mavuri Venkata Ramana.

Each participating troupe would be given Rs. 10,000 as participation fee apart from Rs. 2,100 for contingency expenses for outstation troupes. The social plays would be staged by the troupes from Tadepalli, Kakinada, Pedakakani, Karimnagar, Hyderabad, Govada and Kolkaluru. Apart from naming the venue after patrons of fine arts who passed away recently – D V Subba Rao and Gopala Sastry – the programmes would be conducted as a tribute to Chatla Sriramulu, S. Kasi Viswanath, Kallu Chidambaram and Kondavalasa Lakshmana Rao, said Kalabharati secretary G.R.K. Prasad. The jury comprises Pilla Sanyasi Rao, Chalasani Krishna Prasad, and V.T. Madhav.

There would an entry ticket of Rs. 20 per day and for all four days together it was Rs. 60, he added. AS Raja Memorial Trust member Mangala Gowri, chief festival coordinator K.G. Venu, Visakha Music and Dance Academy member Dusi Dharma Rao and others were present.

Source By: http://www.thehindu.com/